31 Days of Great Nonfiction Reads {Day 19} The Sharper Your Knife The Less You Cry

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry by Kathleen Flinn. Day 19 of 31 Days of Great Nonfiction Books / Great Nonfiction Reads by The Deliberate ReaderThe Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World’s Most Famous Cooking SchoolThe Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry by Kathleen Flinn. Day 19 of 31 Days of Great Nonfiction Books / Great Nonfiction Reads by The Deliberate Reader by Kathleen Flinn

I’ve already discussed my love for food-related memoirs and cooking-school accounts, so I perhaps shouldn’t have included another book in that genre. But it’s my series so there’s going to be another one. I could probably had a half dozen without too much effort.

Flinn’s tale is probably my favorite cooking-school memoir, both because of her gift at recounting her experiences at the school, and because of the wonderful setting; Paris almost becomes a character of it’s own in the book.

I think I especially liked the book because Flinn seemed so relateable – her questions about what she’s doing with her life, and how she ended up where she was definitely sounded familiar. Her taking the opportunity to go after her childhood dream of studying at the Cordon Bleu is inspiring (and her struggles with the language made me admire her all the more; cooking school would be tough enough; adding onto that language barriers for classes and daily life? So hard.)

I never tried any of the recipes Flinn includes, although I’m sure I should have. An index makes it easy to find them again as they’re scattered throughout the text.

Publisher’s Description:
This is the funny and inspiring account of Kathleen Flinn’s struggle in a stew of hot-tempered chefs, competitive classmates, her own “wretchedly inadequate” French, and the basics of French cuisine. Flinn was a thirty-six-year-old middle manager trapped on the corporate ladder—until her boss eliminated her job. So she cashed in her savings and moved to Paris to pursue her lifelong dream of attending the venerable Le Cordon Bleu cooking school. Fans of Julie & Julia and the late Julia Child will be richly rewarded by this vibrant tale of self-discovery, transformation, and ultimately love.

31 Days of Great Nonfiction Reads

Like me and can’t get enough tales of culinary school?

To see all the books featured in 31 Days of Great Nonfiction Reads, go to the series page.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for supporting The Deliberate Reader!

Comments

  1. Okay I *just* finished “My Life in France” and was hungry for more of the same… (pun intended). Good timing on this recommendation!

  2. Loving your series – I’ve been following along regularly! (I’m doing 31 days of Playlists) I really enjoyed this book as well (my best friend and fellow foodie recommended it), but I’d also love to recommend a similiar book if you haven’t read it – “Lunch In Paris – A Love Story with Recipes” by Elizabeth Bard. I think it’s wonderfully written, and a fun and fast read. (Have you read “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver? That also comes highly recommended). Fun, fun post! 🙂

    • Bard’s title does sound like a book I’d like – thanks for sharing it. I’ve started the Kingsolver book but returned it to the library without finishing it. I’m not sure if the book itself wasn’t for me, or if the timing was just off, but I figure I’d give it another shot at a later date.

  3. thanks for all these great suggestions! I think I’m going to add them ALL to my goodreads to-read list!

    • There’s going to be at least one more that you’ve read, so your to-read list will be spared somewhat.

      At least, I’m assuming you’ve read it because it was a bookclub pick. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World’s Most F… by Kathleen Flinn […]

  2. […] book as part of the 31 Days of Great Nonfiction Reads series (despite already including her book The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry on day 19 of the […]

  3. […] of America by Jonathan Dixon Not as compelling as Ruhlman’s book for a look at the CIA, or Flinn’s book if you want an account of cooking […]

  4. […] of my feelings towards about this book I’ll point out my raves over her previous books The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry and The Kitchen Counter Cooking School. Clearly, I like her […]

Leave a Comment

*