Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster

Daddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster by Jean Webster

Sweet and charming, if completely predictable. Don’t let that keep you from trying this book – despite the complete lack of any sort of surprise involved in the narrative, it was such a fun, comforting read. Yes, I know, I’m a committed fan of epistolary novels, but I don’t think you have to be as partial to them as I am to still appreciate this.

There’s a sequel companion novel, that follows this one chronologically (thank you Caroline for the correction on the term), Dear EnemyDear Enemy by Jean Webster, which I’m excited to read. And Dear Mr. KnightleyDear Mr. Knightley: A Novel by Katherine Reay seems to be an updated version of the story. I can’t wait to get to this one too.

It’s also one that would work for precocious readers, if you’ve got younger girls whose reading ability surpasses their maturity for some of the content in contemporary YA titles.

Thanks Jessica for picking this as part of your Young Adult Book and Movie Club – I wouldn’t have read it without that prompting, and I so enjoyed it.

A heads-up: the Kindle version is only $.99, which is admittedly a great deal. But it doesn’t include the drawings that are scattered throughout the text, which is a real shame. Something to consider if you’re thinking about purchasing it.

Publisher’s Description:
Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story.

Book Details

Title: Daddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Author: Jean Webster
Category: Juvenile Fiction
My Rating: 4 Stars
Buy the book: Print | Kindle | Audible

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for supporting The Deliberate Reader!

Comments

  1. Oh my gosh, I love this book! I read it as a girl and didn’t find it predictable at all. If I remember correctly, Dear Enemy isn’t connected to this book in any way but is just as fun.

    • I’m not sure I would have found it predictable if I’d have read it as a kid/pre-teen, but the big revelation of who DLL could possibly be seemed obvious immediately to me reading it as an adult.

      And that’s ok, it certainly didn’t keep me from enjoying the book. 🙂

      Maybe I’ve been mislead, but when I was looking at Dear Enemy it sounds like it is a follow-up to DLL, with the focus on Sallie instead of Judy. So maybe sequel is the wrong word for it. ?

  2. Dear Mr. Knightley was fun and a tad predictable but I really enjoyed it. Daddy Long Legs I read when I was younger and remember really liking it. They remind me of one another but too much time between the two to say how similar. After I read Dear Mr. Knightley, I ordered her other book Lizzy and Jane.

Trackbacks

  1. […] towards this one. It’s a modern retelling of Jean Webster’s book Daddy-Long-Legs (reviewed last week), but that’s only mentioned in the questions for the author at the back of the book. […]

  2. […] Novel by Katherine Reay How did I get it: Borrowed it from the library. Why did I get it: I enjoyed Daddy-Long-Legs, and wanted to read this modern adaptation of that […]

Leave a Comment

*