Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster

Daddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster by Jean Webster

Sweet and charming, if completely predictable. Don’t let that keep you from trying this book – despite the complete lack of any sort of surprise involved in the narrative, it was such a fun, comforting read. Yes, I know, I’m a committed fan of epistolary novels, but I don’t think you have to be as partial to them as I am to still appreciate this.

There’s a sequel companion novel, that follows this one chronologically (thank you Caroline for the correction on the term), Dear EnemyDear Enemy by Jean Webster, which I’m excited to read. And Dear Mr. KnightleyDear Mr. Knightley: A Novel by Katherine Reay seems to be an updated version of the story. I can’t wait to get to this one too.

It’s also one that would work for precocious readers, if you’ve got younger girls whose reading ability surpasses their maturity for some of the content in contemporary YA titles.

Thanks Jessica for picking this as part of your Young Adult Book and Movie Club – I wouldn’t have read it without that prompting, and I so enjoyed it.

A heads-up: the Kindle version is only $.99, which is admittedly a great deal. But it doesn’t include the drawings that are scattered throughout the text, which is a real shame. Something to consider if you’re thinking about purchasing it.

Publisher’s Description:
Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story.

Book Details

Title: Daddy-Long-LegsDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Author: Jean Webster
Category: Juvenile Fiction
My Rating: 4 Stars
Buy the book: Print | Kindle | Audible

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for supporting The Deliberate Reader!