Cover Love: The Well of Lost Plots

This new “Cover Love” series is inspired by the “Judging Books by Their Covers” series previously run at Quirky Bookworm.

The Well of Lost Plots UK and US covers

Two UK versions, and two US versions. The first two are both UK paperbacks (?), but the third is the US hardcover & Kindle version. The fourth is the US paperback and ebook version.

The Well of Lost Plots French German and Spanish covers

I do love non-English-language covers. They’re so fun.

In order: French, German (Kindle), German (paperback), and Spanish.

Once again I’m having a tough time deciding which is my favorite. I like the car in the library in the first one, I like the text sea in the third, and I like the Jurisfiction badge and dodo in the fourth. The German Kindle version has so many great images behind the witch, but I don’t like how prominent the witch is on that cover. The German paperback includes the plane which is fun.

Find the book: My original review | Print | Kindle | Audible | Goodreads

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for supporting The Deliberate Reader!

The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

The Well of Lost PlotsThe Well of Lost PlotsThe Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series) by Jasper Fforde by Jasper Fforde

It took me months to finish this book, and usually that’s a sign that it’s one I should have given up on and admitted that I didn’t find it compelling enough to keep reading.

Except I really do like this series – it’s so odd, and so entertaining. So why did it take me forever to finish it? I think it’s because I was reading the collected version of the first five books in the series on my Kindle, and seeing the “11 hours remaining in the book” status was so discouraging I was never motivated to keep reading.

Obviously, I know that those numbers were for the entire set, but still. It couldn’t give me a breakdown of “this far for this book alone” and that drove me batty. Who knew I needed some sort of real guidance as to how much I had left in a book? Because clearly I do, and counting chapters wasn’t enough, at least until the very end.

All that aside, it is a series that I recommend, if you’re into quirky, genre-bending novels. It’s a mish-mash of fantasy and mystery, but it works.

One of my favorite parts of this series is trying to catch as many literary allusions as possible. I have no expectation that I get them all, but I get enough of them to be quite amused and impressed by Fforde.

If it sounds intriguing, do yourself a favor – don’t start with this one – it’ll make no sense whatsoever, and with this series you’ll want all the help you can get as far as making sense of things. Begin with The Eyre AffairThe Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde and see how you like this alternative world, and the fabulous character of Thursday Next.

Publisher’s Description:
The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse.

Book Details

Title: The Well of Lost PlotsThe Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series) by Jasper Fforde
Author: Jasper Fforde
Category: Fiction / Mystery / Fantasy
My Rating: 3 Stars
Buy the book: Print | Kindle | Audible

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for supporting The Deliberate Reader!